Help a newbie with PBC6x and Strymon Iridium/Compadre

TroyH

Hey everyone - I'm relatively new to this world and while I picked up my PBC 6x nearly six months ago, I am just now getting my setup finalized.

I am running a Strymon Compadre before the PBC6x a Strymon Iridium in the insert loop. I plan to control both with MIDI. I run out of the PBC6x to an Empress MIDI Box 2 and then TRS cables to each Strymon.

The Iridium (MIDI channel 2) seems to work correctly. I set up a sound I like on the pedal, hold down the favorite button until it flashes, press the proper button on the PBC6x, the button stops flashing and I can recall the preset as desired. Often this means selecting a preset, tweaking a bit, and then saving in that same preset spot as I refine the sound.

The Compadre (MIDI channel 3) behaves... oddly. I would assume it would operate the exact same way. However, when I hold down the button on the Compadre until it flashes it only responds if I press a DIFFERENT preset button than what I currently have selected. So if I'm on preset x, tweak something on the pedal, hold the Compadre button until it flashes it will continue to flash until I press a button OTHER than the currently selected preset on the mastermind.

I feel like there is some logical explanation and it has to do with my understanding of MIDI / the setup of the controller, but I can't figure it out and would appreciate the insight if anyone can assist.

In the PBC editor, set Preset 2nd Press to Reload. If you don't do this, pressing a preset button that's already lit will do nothing, so the attached pedals will not receive any MIDI messages. Why it works at all on the other pedal, I don't know, but setting this should improve the situation.

I should have mentioned that I do have that set already. I did discover I liked having that set since I'm doing a lot of tweaking/retweaking right now and want to be able to save over something easily.