Buttons not working on Mastermind

Sammy

Hi,

I've been using my RJM rig on and off for a few years now.
Depending on the gig I'm playing, I dont always use it. So really it as only had about 40 - 50 shows played on it at most.

Last time I used it, about 6 months ago, my mastermind was all working fine.
Now, the "2", "5" and "Bank Up" buttons don't work. I've tried running the Mastermind off of a different power supply but no luck. I tried to do a factory reset but I can't confirm the reset option since the "Bank Up" switch doesn't work.

Any suggestions?

I have a bunch of gigs coming up where it would be really good if I could use it!

Cheers

Sam

It's unlikely that a reset would help. You'll probably need to send it in for us to look at it... How old is this Mastermind?

Hi Ron,

Thanks for the quick reply. I purchased the mastermind in May '11 from deluxe guitars in Melbourne. I live in Sydney. So if I could avoid sending it to the US that would be great.

It seems very strange that the buttons should fail like that. As I mentioned, it hasn't had a great deal of use, and it has always been stored in its box in a cabinet or in the rack case when not in use.

That is odd - I'd recommend having a look inside. There's a button mounted on the chassis that uses a spring to press the actual switch on the circuit board. If some of the screws that secure the circuit board have come loose, or if a spring is missing, it could cause a switch to stop working.

I've taken the cover off and it seems that those buttons that weren't working have worn and gone intermittent.

I can make them all work with the cover off by applying extra pressure to the switch but they don't feel as positive as the others, they don't seem to have that subtle click the others have and some of the buttons that are working when the unit is assembled seem to also be going the same way.

What's the next step? Replace the pressure switches?