EVH 515OIII 5Ow 4-Cable-Method with MM LT & MEGX

EVHGuy1111

Hello,
I’m new to the RJM family. I’ve recently purchased a Mini Effect Gizmo X and a Mastermind LT to control it with my EVH 515OIII 5Ow amp.

I am looking for information to:

•Run 4 Cable Method, so I can run loops 1,2,7,8 (split mono) in front of the amp, loop 3 for the fx loop routing (split mono), and loops 4,5,6,9,10,11,12 in the fx loop of the amp.
•Be able to assign amp channel changes in button presets with effects added so one button will change the assigned effect(s) and amp channel with one click.

I understand I won’t be able to get the amp channel changing right now because I have to purchase a 4out MIDI thru box (to send MMLT commands to the MEGX and 515OIII simultaneously)…

But for the routing I can at least start to experiment to assign effects presets to buttons…

…but when I follow the MEGX 4 cable method routing diagram my amp loses all volume, gain and channel controls… just outputs a loud clean tone that can’t be controlled from the amp, only from the guitar. And every channel (red, blue, green) output the same clean tone that cants be adjusted on gain or volume. I literally have the volume and gain knobs for every channel set to zero and all channels output the same volume and clean sound. I suspect the routing I’ve used is bypassing the preamp but I’m not sure. Just know it’s not what I want of course.

What have I done wrong?

Where do I need to read up on achieving the rig and routing I’m looking to build?

Please, any advice to this MIDI switching noob is much appreciated.

Thank you.

Last edited:
The only thing you're missing is that the loop that's connected to the amp (input and send) needs to be turned on at all times. Otherwise, you're bypassing the amp's preamp.

The only thing you're missing is that the loop that's connected to the amp (input and send) needs to be turned on at all times. Otherwise, you're bypassing the amp's preamp.
Right on.