Which patch cables are you using?

When I initially put the new board together I used some suboptimal cabling because it was there and I was still experimenting. Now I'd like to clean things up and I'm looking for the best quality patch cables.

I was considering giving the Evidence Audio SIS solderless cables a try and was wondering if any of you had good / bad experiences with them or other such brands.

If the solderless stuff out there isn't ready for prime time I can always grab a soldering iron. Should that be the case, who makes the best quality cable and connectors these days? It's been quite a while since I built new cables.

Would appreciate any insights / war stories you might have.

Thanks,

Chris

Here's my 2 cents...and I know there are plenty that will disagree...

I'm an electrical engineer, and some (I did not say all) of the hocus pocus that people talk about with cables is complete junk. It is true that some cables are physically better than others, and there certainly is junk out there that I wouldn't waste money on. That said, I would recommend using a cable that is built well and reasonably priced. I used Mogami cable on my board and GLS Audio plugs. They are both reasonably priced, especially when compared to something like George L or Lava. Don't listen to a manufacturer that tries to tell you that your going to have better tone when using their plugs vs another. Unless it's some extreme case, electrically it's just not true. They can provide all of the garbage advertising they want, but all they are doing is playing into the majority of people who don't understand electricity on a high level. All the signal from your guitar to your amp is, is electricity. Ohms law and proven laws of physics apply...no cable can change that. Blind tests that have been done by many people over the years PROVE that people can't hear the difference in most cases. One particular one I remember was one where they had people blindly listen to 2 amplifier setups. In