4 cable method / ground loops (?)

Branagh

Dear community,

I have been a happy owner of a PBC10 for quite a while now and I'm using it in a 4 cable method setup with the FX loop of the amp while also switching channels on the amp. I have tried to use decent components like the GigRig modular power supply on my board to minimse noise but I'm still fighting with the occasional, random noise/hum issues in different locations and at the same locations at different times.

Because I can't find anything at fault with my cables, power supply, setup etc. I tried to do some research and it seems that ground loops seem to be a rather common problem with the 4 cable method. I'm not very good at electronics but it seems that using isolator boxes can fix this issue.

My question is if anyone here has had and solved similar issues and, in case an iso box is a good idea, where do I put it in the signal chain?

Thanks a lot already!

Yes, one or more isolation transformers is the typical solution. I recommend starting at the end of the signal chain and working backwards. Put one on the connection to the amp's effect loop return. If that isn't enough, add another to the effect loop send. You generally wouldn't want or need to put one on the amp's input.

Thanks for the quick reply!

Just a quick question to make sure I have understood correctly:

Option A means I put the isolation transformer just after "Out A" on the PBC, before the signal goes back to the amp's return.
Option B means I put it it between the Amp Send and "In 5-6" or "In 7-10", depending on how I route it.