Effect Gizmo Issue - Loop always on?

reamplab

Hey Guys,

I'm racking up my pedals using an Effects Gizmo and it's been working great in my testing so far, but all of a sudden the loop I'm using to send to my delay is always on.

I'm using Loop 9, the input comes from a line out of the amp and I'm using the send to turn the delay on/off.

When the loop is off, there is significant bleed into the delay pedal & amp. When I first hooked everything up it was dead silent when I switched the loop off. It seems to have gotten worse over the course of the week.

Any thoughts? Can I meter anything to understand if it's a hardware failure or something else like input level or something?

Thanks for your help.

Sounds to me (although I'm no expert) like the relay is sticking slightly - not completely breaking the contact. It happens on occasion with anything relay based - PC power supplies are notorious for it. Hitting them with a rubber mallet usually resolves that, but I am NOT suggesting you do that with your Effect Gizmo. However, tapping it gently might help.

A workaround might be to swap the jacks plugged into loop 9 with TRS jacks, and only connect the ring (hot) and the sleeve (ground) - because the loops are stereo-capable, this would force it to use the other relay instead.

Coincidentally, I also had a problem with loop 9 on mine - the button was not working reliably. I took the lid off, sprayed compressed air into the switch on the circuit board, levered it very slightly further off the circuit board (but not enough to break any contacts) and it works perfectly again. I like electronics that's on the level I can understand :)

That would be really unfortunate since it just arrived directly from RJM this week. :?

I'm going to do some testing today, and see what I can come up with short of breaking the unit open. If I can't figure it out I'll just call them tomorrow to see if they can shed any light on the subject.

Thanks for the thoughts though!